The College of Medicine 2010 Celebration of Research

Monday, April 19, 2010

Poster Session and Reception
(with heavy hors d’oeuvres)
UF Hilton Ballroom (1714 Southwest 34th Street)
5:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.

 Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Medical Guild Graduate Research Competition
HPNP Auditorium
8:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Katherine Sippel
Mentor: Robert McKenna, Ph.D.
(Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Advanced Concentration)
“Mycoplasma and cancer: structural studies of the malignancy promoting protein p37”

Emily Smith
Mentor: James Resnick, Ph.D.
(Genetics Advanced Concentration)
“Maternal imprinting mechanisms at the Prader-Willi and Angelman syndrome locus”

Sarah E. Szarowicz
Mentor: Frederick Southwick, M.D.
(Immunology/Microbiology Advanced Concentration)
Anthrax edema toxin impairs neutrophil actin-based motility by stimulating vasp phosphorylation”

William Donelan
Mentor: Li-Jun Yang, M.D.
(Molecular Cell Biology Advanced Concentration)
“Distinct regulation of HNF1α by NKX6.1 in pancreatic beta cells”

Travis C. Jackson
Mentor: Thomas Foster, Ph.D.
(Neuroscience Advanced Concentration)
“PHLPP1 regulates neuronal AKT survival signaling”

Adam Mecca
Mentors: Colin Sumners, Ph.D., Michael Katovich, Ph.D.
(Physiology & Pharmacology Advanced Concentration)
“CNS activation of the ACE2/Ang-(1-7)/Mas axis and cerebroprotection during ischemic stroke”

 Social Break & Refreshments
HPNP Reception Hall
10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Keynote Speaker
HPNP Auditorium
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Rex Chisholm, Ph.D.
Dean for Research
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

 “On the Road to Personalized Medicine: Electronic Health Records, Biobanks and Genomics”

 Medical Guild Award Presentation
HPNP Auditorium
12:00 p.m.

 2010 Faculty Council Dinner & Award Ceremony
(by separate invitation)
UF Hilton Ballroom

6:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Social Gathering

 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Dinner and Presentation of Awards
Faculty Clinical Science Award
Faculty Basic Science Award
Lifetime Achievement Awards